Hot Off The Press

The Voice of Ireland - Series 1

Brian was one of the four coaches on the new TV show

The Voice of Ireland.

The much anticipated worldwide hit show has landed on Irish shores. Based on the international format that originated in Holland, The Voice of Ireland promises to be the most exciting show of 2012. Which is no surprise considering its number one show status in Holland and the US, 30 chart entries from The Voice of Holland (including two number ones), a number one single “Moves like Jagger” from The US Voice, 33 international versions of the show in production or currently on air and the chance to win a contract with recording contract with Universal Music. The first step to this coveted prize is the Blind Auditions.

During these auditions the Coaches are seated with their backs to the singers, and their decisions are based solely on voice. If a coach is impressed by the voice, they push the ‘I Want You’ button and their chair turns to face the singer. If more than one coach pushes the button, the power shifts to the singer and they get to decide which coach they want to work with. Once each coach has their team in place, the battle is on! Each team of singers will be mentored and developed by their coach. In the battles stage, each coach will have two members of their team battle against each other by singing the same song, with the coach deciding which team member will advance to the live shows.

Detailed below is a weekly account of each episode:

Live Show- Sun 29th Apr - Pat Byrne wins The Voice of Ireland

Live Show- Sun 22nd Apr

Live Show- Sun 8th Apr


Live Show- Sun 1st Apr
Brian's Team: Sinead eliminated from The Voice


Live Show- Sun 25th Mar


Live Show- Sun 18th Mar
Brian's Team: Claire eliminated from The Voice

Live Show- Sun 11th Mar

Live Show- Sun 4th Mar

Brian's Team: Ryan eliminated from The Voice

The Battles (week 3)- Sun 26th Feb
Claire O'Loughlin vs Angela Shanny
Brendan Keeley vs Neil McGrath


The Battles (week 2)- Sun 19th Feb

Claire O'Loughlin vs Angela Shanny
Brendan Keeley vs Neil McGrath

The Battles (week 1)- Sun 12th Feb
Sinead Fox vs Lindsay Hamilton
Alan Fitzsimons vs Lata McCarthy


Details of Episode Five - Sun 5th Feb


Details of Episode Four - Sun 29th Jan

Details of Episode Three - Sun 22nd Jan

Details of Episode Two - Sun 15th Jan

Details of Episode One - Sun 8th Jan